Possession of Cannabis / Marijuana
In most instances, Possession of Cannabis or Marijuana is punishable as a first degree misdemeanor (punishable up to 1 year in jail and not more than $1,000 fine). However, in certain situations, a person may be charged with felony possession of cannabis or marijuana depending upon the amount and or possession with the intent to sell or deliver if warranted by the facts and circumstances.
Additionally, many people do not know that the Department of Motor Vehicles may suspend your driver license upon conviction to any type of drug possession. The arresting agency may also attempt to confiscate your vehicle under the Florida forfeiture laws.
There are many defenses to Possession of Cannabis or Marijuna. Was the search legal? Did the police officer have sufficient legal cause to search? Was the person actually in possession? Did the person know it was there? Did the substance belong to someone else? All of these defenses may be explored through the discovery process and can lead to motions to suppress the evidence and the eventual dismissal of the charges.
If you or a friend or family member have been arrested for Possession of Cannabis, regardless of whether the crime allegedly occurred in Melbourne, Palm Bay, Cocoa, Cocoa Beach, Merritt Island, Titusville, Rockledge, Cape Canaveral, Satellite Beach, Indian Harbour Beach, West Melbourne, Melbourne Village, Melbourne Beach, Indialantic, Palm Shores, Grant-Valkaria, Mims, or anywhere else in Brevard County, Florida, Contact me to immediately schedule your free consultation.